family tree
press releases
mailing list
site map

good news from the next world : information

JK: "One of two from there would be on our all-time great list, but then we're biased. If there ever was a time we needed a lot of love or a good A&R guy, then it would have been then. We'd made a lot of money for the business; we needed a bit of love in return. Charlie and I did it wrong. We moved to this place in the countryside, retreated there and licked our wounds. We should have put ourselves in the middle of everything. We weren't making sense to the world anymore and the world wasn't making sense to us."

Record Collector Interview
Record Collector #364
July 2009

  • After taking a year off after the Real Life tour, Jim and Charlie started work on what would become Good News From The Next World in 1992.

  • They had a head start as the productive sessions at Wisseloord, Olympic and Bonny Wee Studios in late 1989 and early 1990 had yielded a large number of ideas and songs which were potentials for this new album. These included And The Band Played On, Tears Of A Guy, Criminal World and This Time, all of which had appeared as demos for Real Life.

  • To be completed...

good news... : quick reference
LP    Good News From The Next World Virgin V 2760
A1. She's A River(5:31)
A2. Night Music(5:23)
A3. Hypnotised(5:53)
A4. Great Leap Forward(5:35)
A5. 7 Deadly Sins(5:11)
B1. And The Band Played On(5:32)
B2. My Life(5:15)
B3. Criminal World(5:03)
B4. This Time(4:57)

MC    Good News From The Next World Virgin TCV 2760
1-1. She's A River(5:31)
1-2. Night Music(5:23)
1-3. Hypnotised(5:53)
1-4. Great Leap Forward(5:35)
1-5. 7 Deadly Sins(5:11)
2-1. And The Band Played On(5:32)
2-2. My Life(5:15)
2-3. Criminal World(5:03)
2-4. This Time(4:57)

CD    Good News From The Next World Virgin CDV 2760
1. She's A River(5:31)
2. Night Music(5:23)
3. Hypnotised(5:53)
4. Great Leap Forward(5:35)
5. 7 Deadly Sins(5:11)
6. And The Band Played On(5:32)
7. My Life(5:15)
8. Criminal World(5:03)
9. This Time(4:57)

previous album next album

She's A River Hypnotised