family tree
press releases
mailing list
site map

live in paris 1995: information

  • "The mighty, veteran rock band Simple Minds in Paris, returning to rousing, arena-rock form for a huge, enthusiastic Paris crowd."

  • "The new album was Good News From The Next World - bringing Simple Minds immense success with powerful songs like She's A River, Hypnotised and Great Leap Forward all heard here. Vocalist Jim Kerr with long-term musical partner guitarist Charlie Burchill, supported by a crew of the hardest-driving players in rock, brings to those and other numbers all the tireless passion and vocal intensity fans have come to expect from Simple Minds."

  • "Yet the band's breakout 1980's days are hardly forgotten in this concert. Propulsive, sophisticated, keyboard-driven arrangements of favourites from See The Lights to Someone Somewhere (In Summertime) to Love Song to Belfast Child - along with an irresisible sing-along on Don't You (Forget About Me) - bring out the best in the band and drive the crowd into a frenzy."

  • If you enjoy watching mushy German broadcast TV shows complete with station identifier dumped onto DVD then this is the product for you.

  • The show at the L'Olympia on the 31st October 1995 was filmed and broadcast on German TV. There were also plans for an official release but this idea was eventually dropped. However, the legal status of the performance fell into a grey area, and was picked up by Immortal who seems to specialise in these semi-official not-sanctioned-by-the-band releases.

  • A CD and DVD were simultanously released in April 2012 by the label. Both were well packaged (despite a stock shot of Jim from the first Mandela Day show adorning the front cover) and featured a short essay about the band and concert by William Hogeland. But the DVD itself wasn't as good and simply featured the German TV broadcast (in low resolution) complete with original station logo.

  • There were no other features on the DVD.

  • The band and their official website ignored the release despite it being available through mainstream retailers. Therefore it never gained official sanction and is considered a bootleg.

live in paris 1995: quick reference
1. She's A River[Live] 
2. Up On The Catwalk[Live] 
3. See The Lights[Live] 
4. The American[Live] 
5. Big Sleep[Live] 
6. Great Leap Forward[Live] 
7. Hypnotised[Live] 
8. Let There Be Love[Live] 
9. Someone Somewhere (In Summertime)[Live] 
10. Love Song[Live] 
11. Alive And Kicking[Live] 
12. Belfast Child[Live] 
13. Belfast Child[Coda Live] 
13. Waterfront[Live] 
14. Don't You (Forget About Me)[Live] 
15. Sanctify Yourself[Live]